In Plastic Armor

Knight

37, day thirty six

I wasn’t going to do Trifecta this week. I really wasn’t! Photo prompts aren’t really my thing. I love images, but they tend to inspire emotional reactions from me, rather than ideas. I get more inspiration to write from music than pictures, and more from ideas than either of those. There’s probably some deep-seated psychosis involved, here.

Anyway.

I went over there to read a few of the posts I hadn’t read yet, thinking that the time for submission had already elapsed. But look! There are still two hours left! I think I was inspired by the scarcity, in two different ways. The first is that there is so little time. It is only 33 words, but 33 well crafted words are harder to write than 500 shoddy ones. It’s part of why poetry is so difficult. It is much harder for humans to express themselves with fewer words. Heck, it is part of why writing is a more difficult medium of expression than spoken language. The second way that scarcity inspired me is that there were already 87 33 word posts about this picture. Surely among these many writings, every apparent avenue of elucidation has been explored? I needed to find something else. Here is what I came up with.

Note: I have been in an Epic mood, lately. Probably due to compulsively repetitive listening of the Annie Lennox Lord of the Rings Song. If you listen to that while reading these 33 words, it will help the tone immensely.

OR

   Photo credit: Thomas Leuthard / Foter / CC BY

In Plastic Armor

I cannot await til she presses her lips against me, and drains my lifeblood away. If my lady can read one more line of script from my sacrifice, then gladly I give it.

8 thoughts on “In Plastic Armor

  1. Reblogged this on Neophyte Punk: A Novice of Sorts…But Mostly Literature and commented:
    Short but stirring nonetheless.

  2. Glad you decided to enter. Quite the heartfelt, noble sacrifice; for Art and for Love. Lots of depth in those 33 words. Well done. 🙂

  3. Draug419 says:

    I’m glad you participated–this is awesome work.

  4. Christine says:

    Great phrasing here! I love the whole tone of it – I am a sucker for epic (and that song in particular). I am so glad you didn’t sit this one out!

  5. You’re reminding me that we’re about overdue for a musical prompt. I do love those. If you ever have any suggestions for prompts, send them our way, ok? Thanks for linking up this week. I agree with Christine–great tone.

I know you have something to say, so say it!

