Lunch Break Day 3: I Want an Iron Man Shirt

File:Chickennuggets.jpg

Day 3 of the Daily Post lunch break challenge.

Fast food chicken nuggets
are a luxury when you are broke.
The child in line in front of me,
dashing about, a grinning bolt of lighting in an Iron Man shirt,
is as excited about his nuggets as I am.
His mother tells him he can get two orders
instead of one
and he explodes into pleasure,
like an ecstatic worshiper, dancing in the sand
as the ocean waves lap at his feet.
Being broke is like being a little kid,
you appreciate the tiny things, the silvers of joy,
only little kids don’t know any better,
and don’t have to pay Verizon when they get home.
Which of us is better off?
I’m taller than he is,
but he has more hair.

Also check out:
Lunch Break Day 1: The Distant Banana
Lunch Break Day 2: Birdcall

6 thoughts on “Lunch Break Day 3: I Want an Iron Man Shirt

  1. […] Lunch Break Day 3: I Want an Iron Man Shirt | Stealing All the Sevens […]

  2. michelle w. says:

    Those last two lines are amazing. Well played.

  3. […] Lunch Break Day 3: I Want an Iron Man Shirt | Stealing All the Sevens […]

  4. […] Lunch Break Day 3: I Want an Iron Man Shirt | Stealing All the Sevens […]

I know you have something to say, so say it!

