Lunch Break, Day 2: Birdcall

Birds preparing the Atheltic Field

Day two of the lunch break challenge from The Daily Post.

Today I went for a walk.

Out walking near the athletic fields of the local high school
I see a young boy, and his older sister
Out in the field there are kids kicking around a ball
He calls out, “Carl! Carl!”
“You don’t know him!” his sister shrieks with embarrassment
And presses her hands onto his face, as if trying to shove
her brother’s offending sound back into his mouth.
The boy’s expression never changes,
his face is dopey, intoxicated with glee at his willingness
to make a scene, and not care.
“Caw! Caw!” he changes the name into a bird call
like a crow, or a rooster, to cover his mistake.
I was never like him, when I was small,
though I wanted to be.
I was one of the other kids, hidden in the back of the crowd, watching,
who would never call out, for paralyzing fear
that a person out in the field, who I didn’t know
really was named Carl
or that I had just insulted someone
who could speak bird.

Also check out:
Lunch Break: Day 1.

5 thoughts on “Lunch Break, Day 2: Birdcall

  1. […] Lunch Break, Day 2: Birdcall | Stealing All the Sevens […]

  2. […] Lunch Break, Day 2: Birdcall | Stealing All the Sevens […]

  3. […] Lunch Break, Day 2: Birdcall | Stealing All the Sevens […]

  4. djmatticus says:

    I never worried about insulting people who spoke bird, but I have always wondered what I was saying to the birds who could hear me. Was I insulting their mothers? Was I being charming and witty? It would have been nice to know.

I know you have something to say, so say it!

