Lunch Break, Day 1: The Distant Banana

Banana Peel on a Sidewalk

Writing challenges are fun! They build community and stuff! Anyway, I’ve been enjoying Trifecta so much that I am looking for more. The Daily Post, one of WordPress’s central sites, has a weekly writing challenge that looks fun. This week, writers are prompted to take a moment during lunch, or some other period of quiet observation, and write down our thoughts. I think I’m going to do it all week, as per the extended version of the challenge, in addition to my regular daily blog posts. I’m going to stick to the lunch poem format, because I like the additional constraint. Plus, I remember how my high school poetry teacher admonished me for refusing to write poems using everyday language. I still prefer to write poetry in that sort of bleeding-into-dusk style, but this is an engaging change of pace.

Here’s today’s:

We’re out of rolls.
Of course we are. I buy too many.
They go bad.
That brisket from last night was delicious
but I can still feel the grease on my lips, on my fingers.
Too heavy, right now, it would suck me down
and hold me under.
The fridge is full.
So is the pantry.
I am surrounded by food.
A thousand channels,
and nothing to eat.
That banana
I had for breakfast
Seem so very far away.

Also check out: Lunch Break: Day 2.

9 thoughts on “Lunch Break, Day 1: The Distant Banana

  1. […] Lunch Break, Day 1: The Distant Banana | Stealing All the Sevens […]

  2. […] Lunch Break, Day 1: The Distant Banana | Stealing All the Sevens […]

  3. […] Lunch Break, Day 1: The Distant Banana | Stealing All the Sevens […]

  4. […] Lunch Break, Day 1: The Distant Banana | Stealing All the Sevens […]

  5. […] Lunch Break, Day 1: The Distant Banana | Stealing All the Sevens […]

  6. […] Lunch Break, Day 1: The Distant Banana | Stealing All the Sevens […]

  7. […] Lunch Break, Day 1: The Distant Banana | Stealing All the Sevens […]

  8. […] Lunch Break, Day 1: The Distant Banana | Stealing All the Sevens […]

I know you have something to say, so say it!

